A Parade Of Virtue (2015)

(The ninth book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
25 Feb 2015

After the introspective years following Tom’s death, events take a very dramatic turn. There’s a devastating cholera outbreak in India, Luke Star is dicing with death as a mercenary in Greece, while in New Orleans, Henry Star has a potential troublemaker ruthlessly disposed of… and the villainous John Star continues to pose a danger to both families. Meanwhile, haunted by past misdeeds, one of the settlers in Upstate New York panics when he spots a familiar face in town, leading to a bloody encounter… Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest