A Place Called Home (2015)

(The second book in the Cannibal Country Trilogy series)
24 Dec 2015

In Book Two the island is hit by a massive earthquake resulting in many deaths and widespread disarray. The 1920s and 1930s are challenging times with much social upheaval. Ned’s son George goes out into the world to prove himself a man in his own right. After prospering in business George truly grows up as the prospect of Japanese invasion looks increasingly likely after the war in the Pacific intensifies. Best read in series order.

About the trilogy
In the early 1900s gutter rat, Ned Hawkins aims to rise from the grinding poverty of an English slum, but is forced to flee the country and ends up in Papua. It is a dangerous place where cannibalism and cannibals are never far away. The trilogy charts Ned’s triumphs and failures as he seeks to establish himself and his family as leading lights in this wild and often unforgiving country.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest