A Victorian World (2022)

(Poor Man at the Gate Book 13)
12 June 2022

The Andrews family has been struck by disaster and they make their first steps toward overcoming tragedy and returning to their leading place in Society and Industry.

The decade of the 1840s is bringing in vast changes and the old days of the Hanoverians are rapidly disappearing. Prinny is no more than a distasteful memory, a relic of the eighteenth century, and the new world of steam and empire and overt propriety is opening. It is the Age of Victoria, and the Andrews family and their faithful allies, the Stars, are to be a part of it in every possible way. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.


Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest