Birth of the Raj (2022)

(The first book in A Merchant's Tale series)
13 Oct 2022

It is 1857 and the Sahibs in India have no doubts about their world and its legitimacy. Their viewpoints were those of the new Victorian Supremacy, soon to be called ‘Empire’.

Robert Meiklejohn is born to that world and shares its point of view and ways of thought. He has no doubt of the superiority of the British and of the wisdom of their ways. This is his book and the expressions are those of his time and perhaps alien to far distant generations.

Commencing with what was then called ‘The Great Mutiny’, this series will follow an India country merchant’s son as he tries to make sense of his life in India and elsewhere, first as a soldier for the Company’s Army in its final years.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest