Born To Privilege (2014)

(The third book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
22 Mar 2014

In this classic historical fiction novel, first published in 2014, erstwhile smuggler, Tom is now married with teenage children and exerts an increasing influence in the corridors of power. Both Tom and Joseph’s offspring go out into the world as part of their passage into adulthood. Tragedy befalls the Star family when two of Joseph’s boys find themselves on different sides of a battle at sea. Family members are also involved in dubious adventures in America. Although a land of opportunity, being an Englishman in the States in the years following the 1812 war doesn’t come without risks. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest