Chinese Whispers (2019)

(The third book in the Earl's Other Son series)
21 Feb 2019

Magnus is sent as an attache to the Legation in Peking where rumours of an uprising are rife. He is then sent on an unusual quest inland to rescue missionaries. When his wife becomes pregnant, and deciding that dangers lay ahead in Peking, he travels with her to Shanghai where he is ordered to take command of a larger vessel and search for a gunrunning ship. Later in the book there is a confrontation with a Chinese cruiser that comes to an unexpected resolution. Books best read in series order.

About the Series
The Earl’s Other Son Series. It is the final years of Queen Victoria’s long reign. Lord Magnus Campbell is a lounger, and a naval lieutenant only because an uncle pays him a comfortable allowance while he remains in the service. His father is poor. He is a Scottish Earl with more title than income, and his elder brother is respectable but dim. They are both disapproving of Magnus and his errant ways.

After his indiscretion with an admiral’s daughter, Magnus is forced to leave England. He is appointed captain of an outdated sloop based out of Hong Kong. He engages in vicious actions with pirates and ‘mercenaries’ working for the other Great Powers and achieves a fair amount of success.

As his naval career progresses, Magnus is posted to various trouble spots around the world, where the Royal Navy is needed to protect the interests of the British Empire.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest