Dark Days Of Summer (2017)

(The fourth book in the Innocents At War series)
04 May 2017

Despite the lack of suitable aircraft, there is a major effort by the RFC to establish control of the skies over the Western Front in the lead up to the Battle of the Somme. Noah Arkwright marries Mrs Wyndham and faces an awkward introduction to her aristocratic family. With no expectation of the war ending soon, attitudes harden and people begin to question the government and the military’s handling of the ever-worsening situation. A fatalistic cynicism envelopes those closest to the bloody action. Best read in series order.

About the Series: The Royal Flying Corps grew from the amateur hobbyists flying the earliest and most dangerous machines. Mostly drawn from the Army and Navy, the pilots regarded themselves as gentlemen members of a new club. The Great War saw the death of amateurism – except in the higher ranks – and the unplanned, fortuitous creation of a professional force.

Innocents at War follows the career of Anglo-American flier, Tommy Stark, an enthusiastic boy forced to grow up quickly as many around him die. His deep affection for squire’s daughter, Grace is his only certainty as the bitter conflict threatens to strip the world of its innocence.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest