Fortune And Glory (2015)

(The fifth book in the Duty and Destiny series)
22 Feb 2015

The Revolutionary War is dragging to an untidy end. Britain, France, Russia, Austria and even the disintegrating Ottoman Empire are seeking to position themselves to take advantage of what is expected to be a short peace.

The Balkans and the Eastern Mediterranean are in chaos, decomposing into a shambles that would demand the political skills of Machiavelli to resolve. Frederick Harris has been ordered to take his frigate into these waters to pursue British interests, whatever they might transpire to be.

Prime Minister Pitt is losing power in London and his successors may disavow his policies while Russia, an ally of England, is considering turning to the French. Frederick finds it easy to enter the maelstrom of Near Eastern politics and warfare, but discovers it to be very dangerous to get out again.

The Duty and Destiny Series is a superbly-crafted family saga with a strong naval/seafaring theme. Set in the period of the French Revolutionary War (1793 – 1802). The series follows the naval career, loves and business dealings of Englishman, Frederick Harris, the son of a Hampshire landowner. He is a brave but reluctant mariner. Despite his disinclination, he is seemingly destined to become a Master and Commander of his own ship. Books best read in series order.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest