Illusions Of Change (2014)

(The sixth book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
14 Jul 2014

The Depression is over and fears of revolution have subsided, but there is still resentment over the previous year’s hangings. Robert is carrying out some very controversial actions on behalf of the government under cover of his bank’s business in America. Mad King George finally dies and a new reign appears to offer the possibility of change, but the realities of political and economic existence remain unaltered. William Rumpage rises in the world, to his own, and his wife’s trepidation. Business in India shows a profit, and Captain John starts to repair his fortunes. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest