Nouveau Riche (2014)

(The second book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
17 Feb 2014

This classic historical fiction novel first published in 2014, follows the rise of Tom Andrews to the fringes of political power and social respectability. All seems to be going smoothly until a dangerously demented farmer has to be dealt with, and a shady character from Tom’s dubious days in New York at the time of The Revolutionary War, unexpectedly turns up in London. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest