Peking Nightmares (2019)

(The fourth book in the Earl's Other Son series)
02 Sep 2019

In the final book of the series, Magnus and his men are sent north to help put down the deadly Boxer Rebellion. The atrocities he witnessed when the Boxers were finally defeated appalled him. Later in the book he received news from Britain that would change his life forever. Books best read in series order.

About the Series
The Earl’s Other Son Series. It is the final years of Queen Victoria’s long reign. Lord Magnus Campbell is a lounger, and a naval lieutenant only because an uncle pays him a comfortable allowance while he remains in the service. His father is poor. He is a Scottish Earl with more title than income, and his elder brother is respectable but dim. They are both disapproving of Magnus and his errant ways.

After his indiscretion with an admiral’s daughter, Magnus is forced to leave England. He is appointed captain of an outdated sloop based out of Hong Kong. He engages in vicious actions with pirates and ‘mercenaries’ working for the other Great Powers and achieves a fair amount of success…

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest