Privilege Preserved (2014)

(The fifth book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
01 Jun 2014

Tom Andrews and Joseph Star’s sons enjoy success in the world of commerce. In America, Henry Star is growing wealthy from illicit deals, but is implicated in a murder. Meanwhile, the settlers in New York State are facing dangers as disease strikes. There are shady dealings in Bombay involving slaves and opium-running.Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest