The Bitter Land (2014)

(The second book in the Duty and Destiny series)
27 Jul 2014

Frederick returns to England where he faces some months of half-pay on land – there are always more officers than ships. He marries his sweetheart and settles to a quiet life, he hopes; after a few months he is selected for a dangerous but potentially rich mission, picked out because he now has a reputation as a risk-taker. But unforeseen complications may destroy his career…

Expecting several years on shore he buys an old-fashioned estate and appears to be settled again when tragedy strikes and he is able to use his influence to take a command sailing ‘far foreign.’

The Duty and Destiny Series is a superbly-crafted family saga with a strong naval/seafaring theme. Set in the period of the French Revolutionary War (1793 – 1802). The series follows the naval career, loves and business dealings of Englishman, Frederick Harris, the son of a Hampshire landowner. He is a brave but reluctant mariner. Despite his disinclination, he is seemingly destined to become a Master and Commander of his own ship. Books best read in series order.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest