The Old Order (2014)

(The seventh book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
22 Sep 2014

Tom becomes involved in the sordid suicide of Lord Castlereagh, the Foreign Secretary, and plays a major part in the cover up, earning much political gratitude for the whole family. Meanwhile, James marries well and begins to lay the foundations of a political career. The hunt for Tom’s attacker, Godby Fletcher, leads to America. Joseph, busy with his inventions, faces tragedy which may be too much for him. There are shocks in store for both families that will herald great changes. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest