The Pain Of Privilege (2014)

(The fourth book in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
01 Jun 2014

Tom and Lady Verity intend to place their dynasty in a position of economic, social and political leadership in England. Captain Matthew Star returns to England and makes a love match with their daughter, Charlotte, much to her mother’s displeasure. There is social unrest in the country and riots become commonplace. The problem of unemployment in and around Tom’s estate is solved by encouraging a shipload of local families to emigrate to America. Henry Star continues to prosper in New Orleans, operating mostly on the fringes of legality. Tom’s life seems idyllic until tragedy strikes… Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest