Virtue’s Reward (2015)

(Book 11 in the Poor Man At the Gate series)
08 Nov 2015

Lord Frederick Masters is rescued from his folly in Belgium and is sent to obscurity on a plantation in Virginia. Ireland is starting the downhill slide that leads to the Great Famine of the 1840s, and cholera sweeps through London, claiming many lives. In the United States Henry Star is still profiting and brother Luke is taking the Protestant sword to the Mexicans in Texas. Stavros is desperately hoping for an opportunity to exact revenge on Luke. Books best read in series order.

About the series:
The highly acclaimed A Poor Man at the Gate series follows the fortunes of young Englishman Tom Andrews, a petty smuggler turned ‘pirate’ and his friend Joseph Star, a part-Carib freed slave. After making a small but illicitly gained fortune aboard a privateering ship in the Caribbean and later in New York at the time of the Revolutionary War, they are betrayed and forced to flee to England.

They settle in industrial Lancashire at the beginning of the first great industrial boom; as unscrupulous businessmen they quickly become very rich. Wealth allows Tom to buy a landed estate where he hopes to be accepted by the local aristocratic families. This expansive and meticulously-researched historical saga tells of Tom and Joseph’s triumphs and disasters as they aspire to create powerful dynasties to rival any in England.

Books in Series

Pin It on Pinterest